Call for Papers — REBLS 2020

EDIT: The submission deadline has been extended and the event will be held online.

I invite you to submit your paper to the 7th Workshop on Reactive and Event-based Languages and Systems (REBLS) in November 2020 in Chicago! I am on the program committee, though unfortunately, I probably won’t be able to attend.

Call for Papers

7th Workshop on Reactive and Event-based Languages and Systems (REBLS 2020)
co-located with the SPLASH Conference
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Sun 15 - Fri 20 November 2020

Important dates

Submission Deadline: 24 Jul 2020 21 Aug 2020.
Author Notification: 24 Aug 2020 18 Sep 2020.
Camera Ready Deadline: 5 Sep 2020 9 Oct 2020.


Reactive programming and event-based programming are two closely related programming styles that are becoming more important with the ever increasing requirement for applications to run on the web or on mobile devices, and the advent of advanced High-Performance Computing (HPC) technology.

A number of publications on middleware and language design – so-called reactive and event-based languages and systems (REBLS) – have already seen the light, but the field still raises several questions. For example, the interaction with mainstream language concepts is poorly understood, implementation technology is still lacking, and modularity mechanisms remain largely unexplored. Moreover, large applications are still to be developed, and, consequently, patterns and tools for developing large reactive applications are still in their infancy.

This workshop will gather researchers in reactive and event-based languages and systems. The goal of the workshop is to exchange new technical research results and to better define the field by developing taxonomies and discussing overviews of the existing work.

We welcome all submissions on reactive programming, functional reactive programming, and event- and aspect- oriented systems, including but not limited to:

The format of the workshop is that of a mini-conference. Participants can present their work in slots of 30 mins with Q&A included. Because of the declarative nature of reactive programs, it is often hard to understand their semantics just by looking at the code. We therefore also encourage authors to use their slots for presenting their work based on live demos.


REBLS encourages submissions of two types of papers:


Instructions for the Authors:

Program Committee

Ivan Perez (PC Chair; NIA)

Alan Jeffrey, Mozilla Research.
Christiaan Baaij, QBayLogic.
César Sánchez, IMDEA Software.
Daniel Winograd-Cort, Target Corp.
Edward Amsden, Black River Software, LLC.
Guerric Chupin, University of Nottingham.
Heinrich Apfelmus.
Jonathan Thaler, University of Applied Sciences Vorarlberg.
Louis Mandel, IBM Research.
Manuel Bärenz, sonnen eServices GmbH.
Marc Pouzet, Université Pierre et Marie Curie.
Mark Santolucito, University of Yale.
Neil Sculthorpe, University of Nottingham Trent.
Noemi Rodrigues, Pontifícia Universidade Católica do Rio de Janeiro.
Oleksandra Bulgakova, Sukhomlynsky Mykolaiv National University.
Patrick Bahr, University of Copenhagen.
Takuo Watanabe, Tokyo Institute of Technology.
Tetsuo Kamina, Oita University.
Tom Van Cutsem, Nokia Bell Labs.
Yoshiki Ohshima, HARC / Y Combinator Research.

Organizing Committee

Guido Salvaneschi, TU Darmstadt, Germany.
Wolfgang De Meuter, Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Belgium.
Patrick Eugster, Universita della Svizzera Italiana, Switzerland.
Francisco Sant’Anna, Rio de Janeiro State University, Brazil.
Lukasz Ziarek, SUNY Buffalo, United States.


Some HTML formatting is allowed.